Help with importing protools session

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
jimhenry
Expert
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:56 pm

Help with importing protools session

Post by jimhenry » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:55 pm

Hi-

I transfer the zip file into Auria via iTunes, it unzips when I start Auria, I create a new project, I open the menu tab, go to import AAF file, the file is there but when I click on it shows me an Audio Files folder. I click on the Audio Files folder and it's empty.

If I use the menu tab and go to Import File, then click on the file, the wav files are there. When I import them they don't line up.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any help with this.

JH

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Help with importing protools session

Post by Rim » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:18 pm

Importing using aaf requires two things: an actual aaf file (a file that ends in .aaf) and the accompanying audio files (wav files). Pro tools will generate both when exporting an aaf. Make sure the aaf file is in the same folder as the audio files, otherwise the aaf importer won't find them when reading the aaf file.

Also, make sure when exporting from Pro Tools that you don't choose for the audio files to be embedded into the aaf file itself (they need to be separate).

Rim

jimhenry
Expert
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Help with importing protools session

Post by jimhenry » Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:43 pm

Ah-ha! Ok. Thanks for the help. Much appreciated. jh

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests