How Auria handles plugins which are not working correctly on higher sample rates ?

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
dendy
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:34 pm

How Auria handles plugins which are not working correctly on higher sample rates ?

Post by dendy » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:28 am

Doing some research across most of iOS DAWs .. There are some AU plugins (for example VirSyn Stuff - audiolayer, reslice, microtera, or Sunrizer) which doesn't work correctly on different sample rates than default device rate (44 or 48 khz). How it is possible that they actually work correctly in auria even if project rate is set to 96khz ? I have for example confirmation from Waveshaper dev that his plugin is really not working correctly at 96khz (he is working on fixing it) - but in Auria there is no issue.

Only logical explanation to this for me is that Auria is still processing internally all AUs just at device sample rate (which is 44 or 48khz) and then upsamples just result at the end (or downsamples input before plugin to 44khz and upsamples it back to 96khz after plugin) ?

Sorry if i'm asking too deep question about implementation, but i'm curious how is possible that even plugin, where dev confirmed bug at 96khz sample rate, is working correctly in Auria :)

Thanks in advance for answer / explanation :)
Last edited by dendy on Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8281
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: How Auria handles plugins which are not working correctly on higher sample rates ?

Post by Rim » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:34 am

Auria doesn't have any downsampling code, so when you create a 96Khz project, all plugins run at 96Khz (whether they work or not). It's up to individual plugin developers to ensure that their plugins work at all available sample rates. It's possible that the plugins you mentioned do in fact work at 96Khz but not very well (they might have occasional glitches, etc). You'd need to check with those developers.

Rim

dendy
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: How Auria handles plugins which are not working correctly on higher sample rates ?

Post by dendy » Fri Feb 01, 2019 10:46 am

no, there are major glitches very clearly noticeable for example with VirSyn synths at 96khz sample rate in other host than Auria - there are not just few glitches - sound is totaly broken.. So it's for me very very strange that in Auria they are working correctly - they should be not :))) .. You did in Auria some kind of sorcery and forced them to work correctly :mrgreen:

will do some more tests , anyway thanks for reply !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests