Track going from mono to stereo

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
rickwaugh
Expert
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:25 pm

Track going from mono to stereo

Post by rickwaugh » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:10 pm

How can i be that I can create a track as a mono track, and then when I record on it, it records stereo, on one channel? Also, I have a track that is mono, recorded in mono yesterday, and today, I go to overdub, and it records in stereo, in one channel? And how is it that when I bounce that track in place, it converts it to stereo?

Latest version of Auria, latest version of iOS, iPad Pro. I’m using both and iRig Duo, and an iRig Pro. There is no reason in the world that I can discern for any of this, and instead of recording a quick overdub to a section I did yesterday, I spend an hour trying different things and giving up.

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by Anthony Alves » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:21 pm

Some things to watch out for. All midi tracks are in stereo. You may have chosen a stereo version of fabfilter plugins instead of mono. You may be using a stereo IAA app plugged in. As a help you can create a mono mixdown and import the new mono track into the project. Cheers and good luck.

rickwaugh
Expert
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by rickwaugh » Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:46 pm

Anthony, I had plugins on it from the start of recording this track and it was fine. I removed them after the problem developed and it till does the same. I created a mono track and tried to send the problem track to that, same thing, it went in stereo. I don’t understand how a mono track becomes stereo.

User avatar
richardyot
Expert
Posts: 628
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:45 am

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by richardyot » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:29 am

It's almost certainly because there is a stereo plugin on the track.

rickwaugh
Expert
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by rickwaugh » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:08 am

richardyot wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:29 am
It's almost certainly because there is a stereo plugin on the track.
There’s absolutely nothing on this track now. I took the limiter off the master as well, completely removed it from the slot, and the Pro DS and Compressor from the individual track slot as well. And as soon as I bounce it, it goes to stereo.

rickwaugh
Expert
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by rickwaugh » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:18 pm

So I mixed down to a single wav file, with only that track, as mono. If I listen to that track in Dropbox, or import it into Multitrack DAW, it’s a mono file. At least, I can hear it on both channels. If I import it back into Auria, into a mono track, it’s one side only.

I’m very, very confused.

jimhenry
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by jimhenry » Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:13 pm

Have you tried opening a new project then importing the mono file?

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1343
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Track going from mono to stereo

Post by Anthony Alves » Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:34 am

I’ve had this happen to me before. It doesn’t happen too often so I was never able to duplicate the bug. Just another one of Auria ghost bugs I called them. I hear your frustration. Like me you search for a workaround because after all the music must get done. Good to hear your working hard on creating new music and I know Auria has become a big part of that and you do deserve a solid and reliable daw to capture your creations. Cheers and good luck.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests