VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

For bug reports only - non-bug related questions will be moved to appropriate forum.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
FranksRiffs
Expert
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:30 pm

VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by FranksRiffs » Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:41 pm

The AUv3 doesn’t make a MIDI connection, the IAA can cause random audio shutdown in Auria requiring a restart.

Corey W
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:58 am

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Corey W » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:49 am

We don't have a copy of VirSyn Audio Layers on our end to test, I have requested a copy.
Have you put an inquiry in with VirSyn about these issues yet?

I will start a discussion with VirSyn and get some testing done to see where the problem might be.

Stand by...

FranksRiffs
Expert
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by FranksRiffs » Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:09 am

Really appreciate it.

Corey W
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:58 am

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Corey W » Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:44 pm

So from my initial testing, I am able to record Audio Layers to an audio track as an IAA without any crashes. However, I am unable to get Audio Layers to record any MIDI output or run as an AUv3 in Auria Pro.

I am working with the developer at VirSyn to get to the bottom of this.

What kind of iPad are you using and what version of iOS?

User avatar
Rodolfo
Expert
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:32 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Rodolfo » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:01 pm

I can confirm the AudioLayer issues on my iPad Pro 9.7 (1st gen) running IOS 12.1.4
Last edited by Rodolfo on Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FranksRiffs
Expert
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by FranksRiffs » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:38 pm

Hi, using 12.1.4 on two 2G Pros (10.5 and 12), and an Air 2.

Corey W
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:58 am

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Corey W » Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:54 am

@Rodolfo are you having issues with both IAA- audio as well as MIDI on both IAA and AU?

User avatar
Rodolfo
Expert
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:32 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Rodolfo » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:19 pm

Corey W wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 7:54 am
@Rodolfo are you having issues with both IAA- audio as well as MIDI on both IAA and AU?
Hi Corey,
I tested AudioLayer in two different iPads, details below

IPad Pro 9.7 (1st gen) - IOS 12.1.4 - AudioLayer v1.0.4 - Auria Pro v2.21
I’m having issues as AU, neither audio nor MIDI, not working at all. It’s also listed twice in the green list of AU plugins in Auria Pro as “VirSyn AudioLayer”. I tried both “instances”, but no dice.
As IAA it works “fine”, audio and MIDI, although the MIDI implementation in Audiolayer seems to be promiscuous as it’s triggered by my MIDI controller without the need to arm the track in Auria Pro, and when I arm the track it’s triggered twice (by the controller itself and Auria Pro).

Air 2 - IOS 11.4.1 - AudioLayer v1.0.4 - Auria Pro v2.21
When loaded as AU (any of the two AU “instances”), Auria Pro freezes completely, only way out is to swipe off the app and launch it again.
IAA works fine as in my other iPad.

Please let me know if you need some other specific test that can be of help.

Corey W
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:58 am

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Corey W » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:10 am

That is very helpful, thank you.

Corey W
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:58 am

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Corey W » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:34 am

The VirSyn developer figured out the problem and has fixed it for the next Audio Layers update.

User avatar
Rodolfo
Expert
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:32 pm
Location: Buenos Aires

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Rodolfo » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:17 am

Great! Really good news!

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: VirSyn AudioLayer Issues

Post by Espiegel123 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:29 pm

Fingers crossed that this is resolved soon. I just ran into this last night..which must have been my first time trying to run AudioLayer as AU in Auria Pro. IPad 6thGen runnin 12.1.4

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests